Day 23: 30 Day Reflective Teaching Blogging Challenge

Day 23: Write about one way you meaningfully involve the community in the learning in your classroom. If you don’t yet do so, discuss one way you could get started.”

It’s a good question and as teachers I often think we tend to be islands unto ourselves. It’s important to take a step back and ask how do we involve the community. I guess in the past, I involved the community of my school or at least the parents of my students through a classroom blog. Another way that I think I’ve involved the community is by being a host teacher to student teachers, and giving back to the community in that way. Those are two ways that I can think of right now, but I believe that I do need to take closer look and examine ways that I would feel comfortable meaningfully involving the community in other ways. Look forward to reading some other teacher responses.

Leave a Reply

