Don’t Expect to Be Inspired

image from chick lingo shop

I wanted to write something inspirational, gushing about the first days of school.  Talking about the magic of them, the sheer adrenaline rush that carries us forth as we start to change lives.  How our work is bigger than us and I can see the passion coming alive in the twinkle of my students’ eyes.    But the truth is, I am too exhausted.  My back hurts and so do my feet.  My brain is going in circles, sporadically coming up with something that may turn into something, and oh the to do list has taken on a life of its own.  So it is time for me to admit; I hate the first days of school.  In fact, I think I even hate the first week.

I hate not knowing the kids.  Sure, meeting them all for the first time is exciting, but not…

View original post 490 more words

Leave a Reply

